Midlands scoops Club champions of Champions

By Taurai Maunga

On the 2nd of February the ZRP Buchwa S/U Darts club from Midlands winners the eighth edition of the club champions of champions darts tournament which was held at Zesa Munyati Power Station guest house in Kwekwe.

This event is hosted every year to close the previous year and for opening a new season. There were 10 provinces at this event and each province was required to send two teams which will be representing them.

On this day nine teams attended the event and these teams are Archers Darts Club-Bulawayo Metro, Flying Eagles Darts Club-Harare Metro, ZRP Strikers Men Darts Club-Harare Metro, Macheke Darts Club-Mash East Province, Dandemutande Darts Club- Mash West Province, A’Team Darts Club-Mat South Province, ZRP Buchwa S/U Darts Club-Midlands Province and Josiah Tungamirai Darts Club-Midlands Province.

ZRP Strikers Men darts club went away with $400 and with a Bronze medals after Godfrey Tore represented them. Silver medalist were Flying Eagles darts club from Harare Metro and they went away with $500 with CrispenMkomo as their representative. The 2018 club of champions of champions were ZRP Buchwa S/U darts club from Midlands Province and they were awarded $600, gold medals and a trophy, TakesureGudo represented the club on this day.

In an interview with The Midlands Observer, Kwekwe District Darts Association (KWEDDA) Organising secretary TawandaDzengerere said that he was overwhelmed by the Midlands performance.

”I am happy that Midlands scoops the gold medal and I want to thank everyone who have come and supported the event. It is my hope that the next tournament all the 10 provinces will be represented,” said Dzengerere.

Meanwhile the Kwekwe District Darts Association (KWEDDA) are to host their annual general meeting on the 23rd of February at Globe and Phonix club at 2pm. Matters that will be arising on that meeting are reports for 2018 from all department and they will be elections for the new executive that will run the board for the next two years.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *